Monday Motivation: Even if You Don’t

God, I know I don’t trust you the way I should at times.  You’ve asked for my faith and called for me to offer my life in obedience to your will.  You’ve shown your goodness and faithfulness time and time again, and you’ve given me no reason to doubt that you will take care of my needs.  I know you are stronger and wiser than men (1 Corinthians 1:25) and need no one to tell you how to order your creation.

And still, sometimes I find it hard to act in faith in my daily life.  Sometimes, I have fear of the unknown, I have worry about your plan for me and whether or not I’ll ever live up to your expectations.  Occasionally, I’ll act like I have it all together when on the inside I’m stressed beyond belief.

I know I’m not alone.  I know there are other children of you, God, who struggle when facing the trials of this world.  I’m aware that many of us Christians are not carrying on the intimate relationship with you that you so strongly desire.   I know that you long for your children to trust you and to live out our faith in our daily lives. I know that you wait there, offering a shoulder to cry on, making the promise that you will bless us beyond what we could ever imagine.  I know that you wish for us to present every request to you, believing that you are powerful enough to make them happen (Philippians 4:6-7).

But even if you don’t, I still want to obey you.  Even if you don’t, I still long to worship you.  Even if you don’t, I still wish to follow you.  Because, when it come right down to it, God, where else can I go?

Amen.

-Joe

10 thoughts on “Monday Motivation: Even if You Don’t

  1. Beautiful post Joe. We lose our way on the narrow path to Heaven many times. But if we trust in God we can receive the wonderful gift of eternal life. When you fall, get up, and try again.

    1. Joe Butler

      That’s part of the reason for the blog title Faith and Footsteps. It’s about taking one step and then another and another, faithfully following God.

    1. Joe Butler

      He’s the word of life, the bread of life, the living water. He’s every bit of sustenance we’ll ever need. Thank you for reposting.

Leave a Reply

