Monday Motivation: You Can Only Wear One Pair of Shoes at a Time

You should see my closet.  Actually, you should see both of my closets.  I have one of my own and share half of my daughter’s just to have enough room to hold all my clothes.  Now, I will be honest and say that when I worked in the golf business, I got a lot of free clothes.  But I still have far more than I really need.  What’s really embarrassing though is how many pairs of shoes I own.  Everyone gives the ladies a hard time for having closets full of shoes, but I’m sure my collection surpasses most.

It may seem obvious, but I’ve come to realize that you can only wear one pair of shoes at a time.  The others just sit there taking up space in the closet, and in some cases, collecting dust because they haven’t been worn in so long.  It’s overconsumption at its finest.

I’m willing to bet I’m not the only one with this problem.  It may not be shoes, but I’m sure many of you have far more of something than you really need.  A far bigger and more expensive house than is necessary.  A huge garage full of over-priced cars that you don’t really need.  A long list of expensive hobbies that you participate in and then stop after only a few months.

Our culture says, “more, more, more.”  When are we going to say, “enough is enough!”  The Bible teaches about the Christian’s attitude towards contentment, and it’s a teaching we would be wise to adhere to.

“But godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation, into a snare, into many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. 10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs.”

(1 Timothy 6:6-10)

-Joe

5 thoughts on “Monday Motivation: You Can Only Wear One Pair of Shoes at a Time

  1. Janet Butler

    Great thoughts. I chuckled about the shoes. Reminded me of the “huge” bin that I packed of Granny’s shoes! Hey did you get the books we sent on prayer devotion? Let me know.

    Love ya, yo momma. 😊

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. So true Joe – you can only wear one pair of shoes at a time. We certainly over indulge in this country for sure. I have a small house, 2 old vehicles, and 8 pair of shoes – so I try not to over do on anything. Just donated some clothes and other items to Goodwill today. Expensive things are unimportant. The love of money is definitely the root to all kinds of evil.

    1. Joe Butler

      What’s difficult is everything around us, even other Christians, teach and show that material possessions are super important and what we should strive for in life. The love of money is the root of evil and so is all the nice things that money can buy. It’s so easy for stuff to become our idol, and most people would never admit to that, but it’s evident in the way we sometimes chase after things instead of chasing after and pursuing God.

      1. Amen to that Joe. Things truly do not matter, but people do worship worldly things. I personally do not have that problem – I do not value any worldly goods. My Mother taught me well.

Leave a Reply

