Monday Motivation: Real Discipleship

“Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25 For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. 26 For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul?” (Matthew 16:24-26)

“34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. 35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:34-35)

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. 3 Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. 4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.” (John 15:1-4)

Disciple: One who follows Christ and is a student of his teaching.

It’s common practice in the hiking community to take on a trail name while out on the trail. This practice originated with Appalachian Trail thru-hikers and is now somewhat of a tradition. With the help of some other hikers, I decided that if I ever thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail, I would take the name “Disciple” as my trail name because it summarizes what I want my life to be about: following faithfully in the footsteps of Jesus.

So what does that really mean? It means I must pick up my cross daily to follow him. I must sacrifice self if I’m to serve Christ completely (Matthew 16:24-26). It also means I must love him with all my heart and love others as myself. Jesus exemplified love to the world, and as a disciple of his, I should do the same (John 13:34-35). Finally, it means that I must stay close to my Lord and Teacher. I must learn from his example and his word in order to be as fruitful as possible in my lifetime (John 15:1-4).

What are you doing today and in the week to come to be a disciple of Christ and to follow him to the best of your ability?

-Joe

Leave a Reply

